8 Limbs

Yoga is one of the six orthodox systems of Indian philosophy. It was collated, coordinated and systematized by Patanjali in his classical work, the Yoga Sutras, sometime between 200 B.C. and 200 A.D. Patanjali enumerated the means for the quest of the soul as the eight limbs or stages of Yoga. Patanjali’s 8 yoga sutras is a precise set of doctrines and principles that create the foundation for living a Yogic life.

1. Yama -
 Five moral restraints- External relationship with the world
2. Niyama - Five observance- Internal relationship with Self.
3. Asana - Physical postures
4. Pranayama - Breath control/mindful breathing.
5. Pratyahara - Sense/withdrawal/turning inward.
6. Dharana - Concentration
7. Dhyana - Meditation
8. Samadhi - Union with self with object of meditation.

The Yamas and Niyamas are moral disciplines to bring an individual into balance with your higher Self. Asanas keep the body healthy and strong and in harmony with nature. By a devoted practice at Heat Yoga your body will become healthy and strong. The next two stages, Pranayama and Pratyahara, teach the yogi to regulate the breath and thereby control the mind. This helps to free the senses from the objects of desire. Finally, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi take the yogi into the innermost recesses of his soul. The last three stages keep the yogi in harmony with the Self.


Eight Limbs